Wednesday, July 31, 2013

various-'LOUD! in your ears" (1996 LOUD!)

Ear 1

A1 Dead Body Love – Body Jigsaw 5:07
A2 K.K. Null – Intron Feedback 7:42
A3 Deison – Exhaled 5:58
A4 Government Alpha – Malfeasance 6:11
A5 Atrax Morgue – Beyond Time And Space 6:03
A6 Richard Ramirez – Non-Breeder 3:52

Ear 2

B1 Macronympha – Protuberance 8:08
B2 Devil G. – As Souls With An Hole Crash When Fall 7:54
B3 Grunt – Bad Location 5:20
B4 Baal – I Can't Stop Myself 8:12
B5 Mangled + Onomatopoeia – Shadows 5:46


Tuesday, July 23, 2013

Mortal- "Intense Live Series Vol. 5" (1993 intense records)

“The Intense Live Series was developed to capture in studio the excitement and spontaneity of a live performance, without over dubs, extraneous production tricks or edits.”
this is was a cool series of of EPs. the other bands to do it were Rose, Die Happy, and Tourniquet and Deliverance. all are good, though the die happy one didn't do much for me...but so what..tastes are subjective.
that being said, this mortal one is awesome. heh.

first off, its really great how they have such a seemingly strange selection of songs here.
the first track originally appeared on the techno cd by the band members former project, jyradelix, here (successfully) given more of a rock feel. this is striking because mortal were an electronic project for the first couple of albums which came before this. tracks 2 and 6 are from the debut mortal's release 'lusis'.
track 3 is a cover of the U2 song 'one tree hill'
track 4 is from mortal second, harder, industrial-metal release "fathom" but this time we get treated to allan aquirre from scaterd few and spy glass blue on vocals. as it turns out i prefer this to the original by a good bit...and the original was awesome. track 5 is a cover of 'thy word' which was written and performed by amy grant and michael w. smith originally, definitely an unexpected cover for those who loved mortal's work before this ep.
at the time that this came out...well the obvious question presented will one of those industrialrock/industrialmetal bands come off stripped down...well, as we later came to realize over the years following th is ep...mortal does very well...this ep was the first taste of that.
this is definitely one of my faves from the series. enjoy

1 Lift (3:22) (jyradelix cover)
2 Tuesday Assassin (5:33)
3 One Tree Hill (4:05) (U2 cover)
4 Rift (4:21) (featuring allan aguirre from scaterd few)
5 Thy Word (Homage To Amy Grant And Michael w. Smith - cover) (3:59)
6 Cryptic (5:42)

Monday, July 22, 2013

Tourniquet - "intense live series volume 2" (1993)

1."Phantom Limb" – 6:27
2."Medley: Ark of Suffering / Sterotaxic Atrocities  (medley)
" – 5:20
3.(in studio) – 0:17
4."Whitewashed Tomb" – 4:21
5."The Skeezix Dilemma" – 7:37
6."The Tempter" (Trouble cover) – 6:10
7.(in studio) – 0:22
8."The Messiah" (Bloodgood cover) – 4:51

Tourniquet was in a transition period during the recording of this disc as they had recently lost their original (main) vocalist (Guy Ritter) and had not yet hooked up with Luke Easter. Guitarist Gary Lenaire took up the vocal duties for most of the songs. This was not unusual for him as he had shared duties with Guy Ritter on all of Tourniquet's former albums as well. The parts usually performed by Guy Ritter were sung by guest vocalist Les Carlsen of Bloodgood. This disc includes a biography of the band and session notes by executive producer Terry Taylor.


Sunday, July 21, 2013

ROSE - "intense live series volume 3" (1993)


Die Happy - "intense series live volume 4" (1993)

1. "Justified" (3:57)
2. "In studio" (:07)
3. "Painted Truth" (3:48)
4. "In studio" (:07)
5. "Temple of the Soul" *Chaisson vocal version (5:57)
6. "In studio" (:10)
7. "Celebration" (5:39)
8. "In studio" (:36)
9. "Endless Love" *exclusive (4:16)
10. "All Over Me" *PETRA cover(5:57)


Deliverance - "intense live series volume 1" (1992)


Monday, July 15, 2013

Peaks Mania (1992 warnerbros japan)

1. Twin Peaks Theme 
2. Rockin' Back Inside My Heart (Tibetan 12" Mix) 
3. Rockin' Back Inside My Heart (Bonus Beat) 
4. Rockin' Back Inside My Heart (A Capella) 
5. Rockin' Back Inside My Heart (Tibetan Dub) 
6. The World Spins 
7. Into The Night 
8. Falling 
9. Laura Palmer's Theme


Saturday, July 13, 2013

Sian - "Still/Act" (1996 Fever Pitch Music)

side A:
 Still 4:40
side B:
 Act 3:59


SIAN/David Kristian - "tacoma narrows bridge/ someday anywhere" (1998 alien8 recordings)

david kristian shares this interesting ambient split with sian (project by Shohei Iwasaki
  & Akifumi Nakajima, the men behind monde bruits + aube respectively)

Tacoma Narrows Bridge

1. David Kristian - Things Which Occur On A Microscopic Scale 6:02
2. David Kristian - Sleepwood 5:55
3. David Kristian - Counterfeint 8:15
4. David Kristian - Bathurst 10:41
5. David Kristian - Murma-Ping 6:04

Someday Anywhere
6. Sian - Someday, Anywhere 30:02

sian - "sink/assign" (1997 manifold records)

SIAN = Akifumi Nakajima & Shohei Iwasaki

*heavy sigh*    

holy shit do i miss manifold records....
i can't even begin to tell you how many great releases (with really great packaging) and what an education manifold


1. Sink       14:33
2. Assign    26:39
3. Sink II   11:39


Thursday, July 11, 2013

mania together with the rita

 The Rita & Mania - "true ass worship" (2006 dadadrumming)


a. mania - perturbed
b. the rita - lulu's buttonhole


a. the rita -stockinged ass
b. mania - ripped nylons, red handcuffs

 the rita + mania - "together they're murder" (2006 Biteworks)

companion cd to 'true ass worship' - "together they're murder":

1. mania + the rita - together they're murder


Monday, July 1, 2013