Saturday, July 4, 2009

Arcana - "Dark Age of Reason" (1996 Cold Meat Industry)

amazing debut from Arcana, dark and emotional, evoking a time long since passed, a gothic film score, a neoclassical re-interpretation of beautiful poetry...
"... Comparisons to Dead Can Dance will be made, and they are inevitable and justified, with Arcana's approach to intrumentation and compositions nearly identical to something like De Profundis off of Dead Can Dance's 'Spleen and Ideal'. (...) woefully baroque wood winds, gently plucked strings, flowing violin orchestrations, beautiful piano melodies, and of course, the heavenly blending of baritone and soprano vocals courtesy of Peter Petterson and the beautiful Ida Bengtsson. Yes, it's all been done before in some form or another, but who am I to chastise the band for doing it this damn good?"
-- Jason Mantis, Audio Drudge, Issue. 7

Our God Weeps (2:02)
2 Angel Of Sorrow (3:11)
3 Source Of Light (3:05)
4 The Calm Before The Storm (2:58)
5 Dark Age Of Reason (7:07)
6 Like Statues In The Garden Of Dreaming (3:01)
7 The Oath (3:34)
8 ...For My Love (2:20)
9 Serenity (6:05)
10 The Song Of Mourning (3:47)


No comments:

Post a Comment